Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Is it possible to fully align site left & right w/o background color?

align justify

Best Answer James B , 24 April 2013 - 02:55 AM

Hi

 

If you have any css above check its not missing a closing bracket or semicolon, anything broken above will stop the css from reading.

 

This is the result it gives in firebug - http://screencast.com/t/toItsN6a7bA

 

You can also try putting an override in front of the css like #page or #site to force if it doesn't take.

 
#page #content .content-pad {
    padding: 0;
}
Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 gregoates

gregoates

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 21 April 2013 - 03:56 PM

I don't use any background color at

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

. Posts, post excerpts and right sidebar are indented slightly on both sides below nav bar. Is there a way to align both sides vertically?



#2 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 21 April 2013 - 04:13 PM

Hi,

 

The first thing I'd recommend is using

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

or Chrome's inspection tools to locate the related CSS.

 

That said, the CSS to align the left column (content) flush with the left edge of your site is here:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

You'll see that second 14px (the last), which should be change to 0 (not 0px, plain 0). This code is then copied and pasted to Dashboard > PageLines > Site Options > Custom Code or any of the other possible stylesheet options (child theme or PageLines Customize plugin).

 

Comparably, using Firebug or Chrome, you'll be able to find similar code for the sidebar, which is likely going to be the widget tag.

 

Are you familiar with CSS?  This site can be very helpful to you: 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#3 gregoates

gregoates

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 21 April 2013 - 04:31 PM

Thank you. I pasted in the above code and changed the second mention of "14px" to "0" but it didn't change anything.

 

I have started to learn CSS but I'm not sure how I could ever learn to create that much code that you supplied.

 

I would appreciate any further assistance you could provide. I use Chrome and will try to find corresponding code for right side.



#4 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 21 April 2013 - 05:45 PM

I'm not sure how you pasted this code:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

But, it should go to Dashboard > PageLines > Site Options > Custom Code in the CSS/LESS Rules area on a line below body {}.  It should not be nested or within any set of curly brackets.

 

Do you have a cache plugin activated? If so, once you paste and save the CSS, clear the plugin's cache. Then view the site.



#5 gregoates

gregoates

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 24 April 2013 - 01:57 AM

Thank you very much. The fist time I put the code in the Pageline CSS plugin. This time I put the above code in the Pageline theme CSS and it seemed to work. THe only problem was that it shrunk my Twitter widget to half it's width. So I'm considering dropping that maybe.

 

Appreciate your help, thank you...



#6 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4979 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:23 AM

Hi there

 

To keep things as they are in the sidebar but move the sides out try using the following css. That will strip out the content pads padding but leave the content inside the sidebar and the content area as it is.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#7 gregoates

gregoates

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:38 AM

Hi James,

 

Thank you. I tried that in both the Pagelines customization plugin and the Pagelines Custom CSS in Site Options but neither seemed to have any effect.



#8 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4979 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 24 April 2013 - 02:55 AM   Best Answer

Hi

 

If you have any css above check its not missing a closing bracket or semicolon, anything broken above will stop the css from reading.

 

This is the result it gives in firebug -

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 

You can also try putting an override in front of the css like #page or #site to force if it doesn't take.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: align, justify