Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Nubie: Masthead,buttons,css?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Nubee

Nubee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:30 AM

I want to place Masthead buttons text and buttons on side of image. How do I do this? 

 

Example: 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 

Also, How do I create similar buttons (to masthead's) add place them on boxes and banners?

 

 

Note: I'm new to css

 

 

Thank you in advance.



#2 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:38 AM

Hi there

 

Using the Pl shortcodes you can place buttons in any area of the site which will take html.

 

To view the different button shortcodes and colors visit 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

and scroll down. There's examples of the shortcode you can copy paste into the required area on your page.

 

Any example of the large button shortcode will be

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#3 Nubee

Nubee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 06:57 PM

Thank you James. But how do I move it to where I ant it? Also, the text is not centered in the button. Its closer to the bottom of the button. 



#4 Nubee

Nubee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:03 PM

The button is at the bottom. I want it on the left box.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#5 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 09:38 PM

When visiting the link, all I see is a 404 error.  I'm guessing you've not set up your static homepage correctly.

 

I've looked throughout the rest of the site and can find no added buttons.

 

At any rate, if you wrap the code provided by James in a unique div, you can then style it accordingly.

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

You'd then do things like:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Of course this is only an example and not intended to be specific for your site.  Find out more about CSS at

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#6 Nubee

Nubee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 04:08 AM

Thanks Rob! It worked perfectly! 

 

Now how do I center the text in the button?

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#7 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 04:25 AM

It looks centered to me.  What are you seeing? A screenshot would help.



#8 Nubee

Nubee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 02:04 PM

Here is how it appears on my page: 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#9 catrina

catrina

    Advocate

  • Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 03:11 PM

For me, the text is already centered (in Firefox for Mac). What browser are you using to view this site?



#10 Nubee

Nubee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 04:12 PM

Ive check in both Firefox and Chrome. I even checked on another computer.

 

The text is too close to the bottom of the button.



#11 catrina

catrina

    Advocate

  • Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 05:03 PM

I'm not seeing this on my machine. Can you please take a screenshot and post it here?



#12 Nubee

Nubee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 08:15 PM

I'm not seeing this on my machine. Can you please take a screenshot and post it here?

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 



#13 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:24 AM

Hi,

 

I think we may have mistaken your question earlier.  Yes, that is out of alignment.  Did you wrap the shortcode in the box in a div with a unique class?

 

You'll want to do something like <div class="mycustombutton1">[shortcode...]</div>. Then, in Dashboard > PageLines > Site Options > Custom Code you'd craft some CSS like this (only for demo purposes):

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content