Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Empty space between sections


Best Answer trassel , 14 February 2013 - 11:46 AM

OK, can you send me a PM please, containing admin username and password, as well as link to your site and I will take a look.

 

However, my shift ends at 2:00pm GMT, so if you send it around about this time or later, I will look at your site tomorrow and hopefully point you in the right direction.

Thanks for the help even if you only looked.

 

I was figurin out that a Plugin for a Store map was a problem and also this code I hade to change.

 
section.copy {
    margin: 0.5em 0;
}

And I'll be needing some new map but that is a later problem...

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 February 2013 - 10:49 PM

1. I've tried the content code and also a specific code for the sections to mini the big gap....  see my picture!

 

2. I also want to know if I can set up the boxsets manually on the content page?

 

I've a deadline on saturday. Then everything must be done.

 

 


 



#2 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 February 2013 - 11:22 PM

Hi,

 

It looks like the one of the sections is adding a rather large volume of padding or margin space there. Have you used Firebug or Chrome's Inspection Tool to find other elements that may be causing the issue?



#3 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:31 AM

Firebug shows in the biggest frame

 

<section class="container no_clone section-contentbox fix" id="contentbox"><div class="texture"><div class="content"><div class="content-pad"><div class="hentry cb-standard"><div class="hentry-pad cb-standard-pad entry_content"><div class="row">
    <div class="span6">
<div class="fbox_4">
<h1>Ta reda på skillnaden</h1>
Här kan du välja mellan näringsrika <b>foder till häst</b>. Saracens <b>hästfoder</b> bjuder på ett brett utbud, välj efter din hästs behov. Kvalitativa <b>vitaminer</b> och <b>mineraler</b> är en självklarhet. Här hittar du också <b>tillskott till häst</b>, bra <b>örter</b> och olika resultatinriktade örtblandingar.
<p>Vill du ha hjälp att <b>räkna ut foderstat</b>?<br> Vi erbjuder kostnadsfri rådgivning.</p>
<p align="center">Ladda ner vår folder i <img src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"> format - Senaste forskningen - Beställ Nyhetsbrev</p>
</div>
 </div>
<div class="span3">
<div class="fbox_1">
<h3><span style="color: #3e5583;">Forskning och vetenskap</span></h3>
<img src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"><br>
<span style="color: #3e5583;">Vår samarbetspartner</span><br>
KER är en världens ledande forskningscenter i USA på hästfoder och fysiologi.<br>
<a href="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"><span style="color: #3e5583;"><img rel="wp-video-lightbox" src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"> Se Film</span></a> <a target="_blank" href="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"><img src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"> <span style="color: #3e5583;">Läs mer</span></a>
</div><br>
<div class="fbox_3">
<img align="left" src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

">
<h3><span style="color: #006431;">Alf Alfa</span></h3>
Fiberprocerat hästfoder
</div>
</div>
<div class="span3">
<div class="fbox_2">
<h3><span style="color: #006431;">Foderspecialist</span></h3>
<img src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"><br>
Jag svarar på dina frågor och hjäper dig räkna ut en foderstat. Inga frågor är dumma. Vi hörs!
<table>
<tbody>
<tr>
<td>040 - 48 07 58 <br>
Pia Prahl</td>
<td><img src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</div><br>
<div class="fbox_3">
<img align="left" src="

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

"><h3><span style="color: #006431;">Örter</span></h3>
Örtblandningar som komplement till foder.
</div>
</div></div></div></div></div></div></div></section>



#4 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13021 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:56 AM

All sections contain a similar HTML structure, where it has some like this:

 

<section ID="" class="">

<div class="texture">

<div class="content">

<div class="content-pad">

 

and so on...

 

But from the code you have linked above (in future use our

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

service) you're using a ContentBox with the boxes section HTML code inside it. We do not provide support for user created custom code HTML, CSS or PHP.

 

The space is most likely generated by your custom code or you need to inspect the ContentBox section and reduce its padding which is found in the Content-pad, see my basic html structure above.

 

However, you're also going to need to inspect all your HTML, if you have any margins or other elements using padding, which could also be causing the space.



#5 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2013 - 12:56 PM

All sections contain a similar HTML structure, where it has some like this:

 

<section ID="" class="">

<div class="texture">

<div class="content">

<div class="content-pad">

 

and so on...

 

But from the code you have linked above (in future use our

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

service) you're using a ContentBox with the boxes section HTML code inside it. We do not provide support for user created custom code HTML, CSS or PHP.

 

The space is most likely generated by your custom code or you need to inspect the ContentBox section and reduce its padding which is found in the Content-pad, see my basic html structure above.

 

However, you're also going to need to inspect all your HTML, if you have any margins or other elements using padding, which could also be causing the space.

But I've using your grid system in the contentbox? Nothing then a customcode for each box is setted. Just because I wanted it this way....

 

I've looked true my HTML lots of time but I can't see whats wrong? Also I see under my pages that after the edit link in the bottom is a big gap... <p></p> and its must be your framework? :startle:



#6 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13021 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2013 - 01:49 PM

I am well aware you're using the grid but you have also add this to the grid:

 

<div class="fbox_1">
 

Although this is a PageLines Box class, it really shouldn't be used inside a grid layout, as they do similar jobs.

 

The <p></p> is not related to PageLines and is actually a Wordpress editor problem. Wordpress has a habit of adding linebreaks, to resolve the issue, simply remove the line breaks in your code or use the PageLines raw shortcode. Simply wrap it around your code and it will automatically stop Wordpress from doing this line break.



Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Please bear in mind that this shortcode can be only be used once per page.



#7 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:26 PM

I am well aware you're using the grid but you have also add this to the grid:
 
<div class="fbox_1">
 
Although this is a PageLines Box class, it really shouldn't be used inside a grid layout, as they do similar jobs.
 
The <p></p> is not related to PageLines and is actually a Wordpress editor problem. Wordpress has a habit of adding linebreaks, to resolve the issue, simply remove the line breaks in your code or use the PageLines raw shortcode. Simply wrap it around your code and it will automatically stop Wordpress from doing this line break.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Please bear in mind that this shortcode can be only be used once per page.

 
<div class="fbox_1"> is only a css stylesheet as;

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

And the code

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

didn't work here

 

 

Attached Files



#8 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2013 - 11:36 PM

Hi, the fbox_1 element is CSS found in PageLines default code.  It is used in our boxes.  If you create a new class using the same class used by our Boxes, you will get a conflict and one of the two classes will fail.

 

If you want to use custom classes in the grid, that's fine, but please use unique terms, but make sure they're truly unique. The term fbox is used by PageLines and should not be used as a custom class. Just rename it to f-box_1 and change your custom code to match.



#9 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:24 AM

Hi, the fbox_1 element is CSS found in PageLines default code.  It is used in our boxes.  If you create a new class using the same class used by our Boxes, you will get a conflict and one of the two classes will fail.

 

If you want to use custom classes in the grid, that's fine, but please use unique terms, but make sure they're truly unique. The term fbox is used by PageLines and should not be used as a custom class. Just rename it to f-box_1 and change your custom code to match.

is this code also a conflict then I can't style my boxes???

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#10 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13021 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:52 AM

I am not sure why you're using the fbox name, you can use whatever word you like, for example,

 

.omgwtfbbq { you CSS here ;}

 

Also the attached image above isn't the one you originally had. So I am now confused as to what your issue is. Can you provide a link to the site in question and explain us what issue you're having.

 

As the original attached image displayed a gap between two sections but this image has now been removed for some reason and the one attached now, is of text and a few tabs ?



#11 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 08:38 AM

I am not sure why you're using the fbox name, you can use whatever word you like, for example,

 

.omgwtfbbq { you CSS here ;}

 

Also the attached image above isn't the one you originally had. So I am now confused as to what your issue is. Can you provide a link to the site in question and explain us what issue you're having.

 

As the original attached image displayed a gap between two sections but this image has now been removed for some reason and the one attached now, is of text and a few tabs ?

I can't show you the page because is not for show yet but I can create a login for you. Im sorry for the image I wanted to show that its on other pages also....

 

:nurse:

 

But I've to use the fbox if I need to style boxes?



#12 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13021 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 08:47 AM

I have to say I am very confused now lol

 

OK, all sections have padding under the content-pad class, you will need to target these section(s) and reduce the padding or remove it completely with padding:0px;

 

Now as for the image attached, inspect using Firebug or your browsers built-in web dev tools and see where that extra space at the bottom is coming from, it may be related to min-height property or something else.

 

Inspecting the site using the web dev tool is what you need to do, find out where the extra space is coming from be it padding, a few lone <p></p> tags etc...



#13 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 09:32 AM

I have to say I am very confused now lol

 

OK, all sections have padding under the content-pad class, you will need to target these section(s) and reduce the padding or remove it completely with padding:0px;

 

Now as for the image attached, inspect using Firebug or your browsers built-in web dev tools and see where that extra space at the bottom is coming from, it may be related to min-height property or something else.

 

Inspecting the site using the web dev tool is what you need to do, find out where the extra space is coming from be it padding, a few lone <p></p> tags etc...

Confusing YES LOL Im on it... Post here when I've solved it....



#14 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13021 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:31 AM

OK, keep us posted.



#15 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:56 PM

OK, keep us posted.

My head is going to blow up... someone who can help me?



#16 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13021 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 February 2013 - 01:12 PM

OK, can you send me a PM please, containing admin username and password, as well as link to your site and I will take a look.

 

However, my shift ends at 2:00pm GMT, so if you send it around about this time or later, I will look at your site tomorrow and hopefully point you in the right direction.



#17 trassel

trassel

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 11:46 AM   Best Answer

OK, can you send me a PM please, containing admin username and password, as well as link to your site and I will take a look.

 

However, my shift ends at 2:00pm GMT, so if you send it around about this time or later, I will look at your site tomorrow and hopefully point you in the right direction.

Thanks for the help even if you only looked.

 

I was figurin out that a Plugin for a Store map was a problem and also this code I hade to change.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

And I'll be needing some new map but that is a later problem...


  • Danny likes this

#18 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13021 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2013 - 01:19 PM

No problem, happy to help and thanks for sharing the snippet that resolve your issue.