Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Admin panel is slow

Question

Posted · Report post

I am new to PageLines and I am not a developer or programmer. I am a novice. Please talk to me like I were a 5 year old. No, wait, 5 year olds may know more computer talk than I do. With that out of the way, here is my problem,

I just installed PageLines recently. When I am in the dashboard and I click Site Options (as an example) sometimes the lag time is 90 seconds or more before the panel displays on the right. If I go back to Page Options (for example) it might be 4 to 9 seconds before Page Options appear.

I have deactivated ALL plugins.

I have activated a new theme (namely Twenty Twelve) and the slowness issue is greatly improved.

I have the latest version of WP running 3.5.1

Here is an exchange I had with the Host (Dreamhost). I have not figured out how to allow,deny the IP addresses yet, but as I said previously, when I deactivated PageLines the admin panel sped up considerably. Is this a unique issue? Have others experienced this? What are your ideas?

Hello,

On Mon, 28 Jan 2013, you wrote:

> When I'm in admin the response is awfully slow. It has been as slow as 90

> seconds. More often a delay in connecting and sometimes the wait time goes up

> over 5 seconds. Hopefully you'll be able to offer a solution or move you on

> to another server

> jdoughall

>

Hello J, thanks for contacting us.  I have looked at your issue and I

have found the following data on your site:

These are the IP addresses that are hitting your site the most:

25 173.58.165.176

32 12.248.40.138

869 71.204.72.139

You can see the disparity of the amount of times that the IP address

above has hit in relation to the other IP addresses.  I recommend

blocking it if you do not recognize the IP address:

wiki.dreamhost.com/Htaccess_file_overview#Deny.2FAllow_Certain_IP_Addresses

These are the scrips/files/plugins that are being called the most: