Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

compiled css not converting to https


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jgreghenderson

jgreghenderson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 4 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:36 PM

I am running pagelines with a custom childtheme for a site. For some reason on the SSL secured page the css is not loading, after a little inspection I see the following with Chrome inspector

 

The page at

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

ran insecure content from

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

.

 

Any reason why the compiled css does not convert to https to secure it?

 

Example page in question is: 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 



#2 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4985 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:47 PM

Hi there, I've found the below information from one of our developers on another post which may assist you.

 

" the CSS is only written once and cached, so if its cached on a non-ssl page the css is going to be non-ssl on the ssl page, if you follow.

 

So your choices are:

 

  • Force the CSS to never cache and re-generate on ever pageload (!)
  • Force the CSS to be SSL on all pages, including non-ssl pages.

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Use the above to force the css to be ssl "
 
The link to the original post is -

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 
Let us know if that helps or if you require further assistance


#3 jgreghenderson

jgreghenderson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 4 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:53 PM

I've actually added the force ssl to the functions page, still does not seem to load ssl. Unless it goes somewhere other than that.

 

I can't imagine why it can not compile either a relative path or 2 versions for https and http. Seems like a pretty serious omission.



#4 Simon_P

Simon_P

    Messer

  • Administrators
  • 8388607 posts
  • LocationDevon
  • Framework Version:2.0
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 January 2013 - 11:10 PM

The framework uses the default WordPress site_url, if your using SSL then the URL is SSL.

 

You are using a 3rd party plugin to fool WordPress into thinking its SSL for one page. We cannot support every 3rd party SSL plugin so we supply that filter that james quoted that forces the css to always use an ssl url.

If that action is not working you have either added it in the wrong place, or your looking at a cached page.

It needs to go in a wordpress child theme, like the free 'base' child theme, and the theme needs to be active.



#5 jgreghenderson

jgreghenderson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 4 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 January 2013 - 11:22 PM

The plugin was added after I tried the force ssl and it did not work, and since has been deactivated.

 

The force ssl is added to the child theme. Just looking for a little support here, it doesn't seem like I am the only one who has had this problem, but after 4 hours of searching I've yet to find an answer. 



#6 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4985 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 January 2013 - 12:43 AM

Did you have any caching plugins active? Anything that could be masking the changes?

 

Have you made any changes or inserted any code for the ssl rules into the htaccess file?

 

If you've installed the base child theme to paste the code into the functions.php, is the base theme the active theme in appearance>themes

 

If none of the above apply can you enable the debug option in Pagelines>site options>advanced and click save.



#7 jgreghenderson

jgreghenderson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 4 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 January 2013 - 12:58 AM

No caching, I always wait until I am 100% done with a site before installing caching. No htaccess modifications. Theme is active.

 

I just turned debug on, thanks for the help.



#8 Simon_P

Simon_P

    Messer

  • Administrators
  • 8388607 posts
  • LocationDevon
  • Framework Version:2.0
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 January 2013 - 01:05 AM

Think half the problem here is urls are being redirected.

 

for example...

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

is redirected to

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

is redirected to 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 

This is a server configuration issue.