Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • 0

Deactivate unused

Question

Posted · Report post

As there any speed or compatibility advantages to disabling pagelines sections or parts of the framework that I am not using?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Posted · Report post

There is a HUGE speed increase when you deactive sections that are not in use.

 

I deactivated 20 sections not in use, on my product demo sites, and I shaved off nearly a full second load time. I also shaved off 15mb of the RAM needed to compile the CSS.

 

I strongly recommend deactivating what sections are not in use, because if you dont that sections LESS files are still loaded and compiled, no matter if you're using them or not.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Ah yeah, this was my mistake.

Nick is correct, just tested this and I do received a speed increase although my wasn't huge. So if you like deactivate any sections that you won't be using, the choice is up to you.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Hi,

 

As far as I know, no there is no huge speed increase. As your website will only load what is active on the page. For example, if you install the Profiles section but do not have it on any of your pages, then the Profiles section will not be loaded, as its not it in use.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites