Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Custom CSS not being recognized by the site


Best Answer James B , 05 January 2013 - 01:50 AM

Hi there, looks like there was an unwanted bracket in the css, have removed and changes seem to be taking affect now. Please check and let me know all is ok.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 sidianmsjones

sidianmsjones

    Super Member

  • Members


  • 185 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 03 January 2013 - 06:28 PM

Site here: 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 

Hi all. So I've been utilizing the Custom CSS area for quite a while. Then I updated WP and Pagelines and suddenly my site doesn't pull in my CSS.

 

Here's my code...

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#2 catrina

catrina

    Advocate

  • Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 03 January 2013 - 07:00 PM

Try adding #page at the beginning of your selectors.



#3 sidianmsjones

sidianmsjones

    Super Member

  • Members


  • 185 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 03 January 2013 - 08:07 PM

Like this?

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#4 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:21 AM

Hi there, yes adding #page will make your css more specific. If it's happened since a recent update then also try refreshing/flushing your permalinks if that doesn't work. 

 

Just go to settings>permalinks and hit save, then refresh. I'm looking on your site though in firefox and it looks like all your css is loading correctly.



#5 sidianmsjones

sidianmsjones

    Super Member

  • Members


  • 185 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:28 AM

Strange, I tried both the #page, and permalink thing, plus I've cleared my caches and used other browsers...still no love over here.

 

The most glaring thing I'm seeing is the big white padding around the BookLamp banner. Is that showing for you, James? The banner should blend into the background just like on

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

.



#6 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:04 AM

Ok in that case I see the same as you, i was looking at the booklamp.org link thinking that was your site.

 

Looking in the source code for the storytime site the custom css isn't showing, all that's in there in its place is the below css and it doesn't refer to any particular section.

 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

How are you adding your css? In the custom code box, via base theme or customize plugin?

 

Are you seeing any css/less error messages in the wp admin bar?

 

Have you migrate or moved the site directories around at all?



#7 sidianmsjones

sidianmsjones

    Super Member

  • Members


  • 185 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:06 AM

Interesting, so it sees the values but not the selectors?

 

But no, no error messages. It's rather confounding.



#8 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:07 AM

Is there meant to be anything on that page as it's coming up with a 404. Has this site always been set up into this sub-directory? Nothings been moved?

 

Disable all third party plugins see if anything causing issues there.

 

Have you placed any code in the functions.php or entered any scripts anywhere?



#9 sidianmsjones

sidianmsjones

    Super Member

  • Members


  • 185 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:34 AM

There is, sorry I messed up the link. I've now fixed it above and here it is again: 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 

And yeah, it's always been in that sub, didn't move anything. I'll try the plugins. Haven't altered the functions or put any scripts aside from footer ones like Google Analytics.



#10 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:45 AM

Ok no worries, could you can a screenshot of the custom code page too for us with the code in so we can take a look :-)



#11 sidianmsjones

sidianmsjones

    Super Member

  • Members


  • 185 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 06:31 PM

Sure, here it is in it's current state...

 

3Zpzs.png



#12 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:06 PM

Hi there,

 

Can you set up an admin level user for us and send the username and password to hello@pagelines.com for me. We'll log in and take a look for you.



#13 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:50 AM   Best Answer

Hi there, looks like there was an unwanted bracket in the css, have removed and changes seem to be taking affect now. Please check and let me know all is ok.



#14 sidianmsjones

sidianmsjones

    Super Member

  • Members


  • 185 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:37 PM

Really? I feel pretty silly now. Then again it's kind of weird a bracket would appear due to updating my site, but everything is now in working order. Thanks James!