Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

5Px Gap At Bottom Of Footer

Question

Posted · Report post

So I'm a fairly experienced developer with php and css, and I'm finding a small problem with the pagelines framework that I can't seem to fix. There appears to be a 5px gap at the bottom of my pagelines sites that I'm unable to find the cause of.

HTML, BODY, div#site, and footer#footer, the only elements I could think of that would cause this, all have their margin/padding set to 0. When I turn the body background off/on, it is showing that it is the BODY element showing through. When I click on it using firebug, firebug highlights the html element. In the image below, the green line is where the browser should be sitting, but for some reason it has that 5px gap below the site.

site_screenshot.png

And this is a more visible example from another site I'm working on. The light beige/green at the bottom shouldn't be there and I'm not sure how to get rid of it:

site_screenshot_2.jpg

40 answers to this question

Posted · Report post

Oookey dokey. This one was a bugger, but I found the issue. It lies within the .fix:: after in the #footer .outline. So to fix this, remove whatever padding you have on the #footer. Then do this

#footer .outline.fix::after{content:"";}

Currently, that content has content:".", and that period is throwing everything off.

I tested this in the head of your site and indeed corrects it. Let us know how you go about.

Posted · Report post

As soon as I hear back from our developers, I'll let you know.

Posted · Report post

@beardedavenger: thank you so much! That was definitely what the problem was. For some reason the site wasn't reading the style properly with the .outline.fix, so the line that solved it for me was:

#footer .fix:after{content:"";}