Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -
Open

How do I replace the Features section with an alternate slider plugin?



  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 asymonds

asymonds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Framework Version:Latest one

Posted 30 September 2012 - 02:26 AM

Pretty much like the tiles says. I have a slider I want to activate with a shortcode, but I can't figure out where it should go to replace the Features section. Your help is appreciated.

#2 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13067 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:31 AM

Hi,

If you wish to use an alternative slider which uses shortcodes, is simply add the sliders shortcode to your page/post. Then you will need to remove the PageLines slider from your page, to do this go to your Wordpress admin dashboard > PageLines > Drag and Drop > select the template where you have the feature slider section and then drag and drop the features section to the "Available / Disabled Sections". This will disable the features section on this template.

#3 asymonds

asymonds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Framework Version:Latest one

Posted 30 September 2012 - 11:17 AM

Thank you for the quick reply.

The issue is I have a sidebar in the page layout and I need the slider to be above all the page content, including all the widgets in the sidebar. How do I do that?

#4 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13067 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 September 2012 - 01:00 PM

I have to apologise but 2.3.1 has not yet been released, it should be released tomorrow if goes well. So the feature slider links opening in a new browsers will not be possible until then.

To have your feature slider above your content and sidebars, add the feature slider to your Page Template area and not the Content Area, see image.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#5 asymonds

asymonds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Framework Version:Latest one

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:17 PM

To have your feature slider above your content and sidebars, add the feature slider to your Page Template area and not the Content Area, see image.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



I guess I wasn't clear, but I'm looking to put in a custom slider above the content and sidebars, not the feature slider that comes with pagelines.

How can I do that?

#6 asymonds

asymonds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Framework Version:Latest one

Posted 04 November 2012 - 08:54 AM

Bump.

Still looking for an answer.

#7 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 13067 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 November 2012 - 12:34 PM

First of all, please do not bump topics!

Like I mentioned above, if you use a slider plugin which uses shortcodes, simply add the shortcode to your post/page editor. However, if you're using a sidebar layout, you will need to add this shortcode to the Content Box section and position the ContentBox above the Content Section in Drag and Drop for your template.

If your slider doesn't use shortcodes, then you will most likely need to create a custom section for this slider. If this is the case, I recommend you contact one of our pros for assistance.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#8 asymonds

asymonds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Framework Version:Latest one

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:54 PM

Hi,

Sorry for bumping. Thanks for the response. I think the disconnect was I didn't realise the ContentBox needed to be installed first.

#9 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 04 November 2012 - 09:51 PM

If you use the templates correctly in Drag & Drop, you can place a full-width element like ContentBox, Full-Width or Universal Sidebars into the Page Template, above the Content section.

You can place the shortcode into a text widget in any of those, resulting in the slider appearing above the content and sidebars of the page/posts when that template is applied.