Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Displaying posts on frontpage

frontpage post display

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 outtareach

outtareach

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 221 posts
  • LocationNY
  • Framework Version:Version 3.4.2
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 September 2012 - 07:41 PM

Is it me or is there no way to display blog post on the frontpage? I know there is a blog page and you can change how the post display but is there a module to just pull the blog posts onto the front page?

#2 mackenzie

mackenzie

    Advocate

  • Members
  • 333 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 September 2012 - 10:37 PM

Are you looking to have the blog posts as your homepage? You would need to do this from your WordPress Dashboard. Find Settings (should be on the bottom left) > Reading > Front page displays > Your latest posts

#3 Simon_P

Simon_P

    Messer

  • Administrators



  • 8388607 posts
  • LocationDevon
  • Framework Version:2.1.1
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:07 AM

In WordPress the front page is either a blog page (default) or a static page.

#4 outtareach

outtareach

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 221 posts
  • LocationNY
  • Framework Version:Version 3.4.2
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 October 2012 - 02:49 AM

well I have a static page with various modules to create the look I want but I need some of the post to display on the frontpage. From what I see there is no module that will just display the post with its thumb and text blurb like on hypebeast.com. I see in blog I can have it set up but I only want some of the post like 4 most recent to display.
. Posted Image

#5 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 15120 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 October 2012 - 07:33 AM

Hi,

If you wish to display your posts on your homepage you can use the Special Recent Posts plugins. It provides a shortcode from the options you choose, then add the shortocde to your home static page.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#6 outtareach

outtareach

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 221 posts
  • LocationNY
  • Framework Version:Version 3.4.2
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:02 AM

thank you for the information and I will look into this but how would I use this if Im using pagelines modules to build the page? Is there some wrapper that would let me use this in drap and drop?

#7 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 15120 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:18 AM

You could use the Content Box section, just add the shortcode there and it should work.

#8 Evan Mattson

Evan Mattson

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 206 posts
  • LocationAnn Arbor, MI
  • Framework Version:latest stable & beta releases
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 October 2012 - 02:32 PM

It sounds like you want to display a few recent posts in a format similar to the screenshot you provided on your homepage, but you don't want your homepage to be your main blog page - that sound right? If you want something that you can use in drag & drop, that means you're looking for a section.

There are a few products in the store that come to mind that may work as a solution for you:
  • Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

    - custom loop section
  • Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

    - custom boxes section
Take a look, maybe these will work for you? You could always try coding up your own custom section :). If that's new to you, check out the developer

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

.

#9 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 October 2012 - 11:52 PM

Thanks for your suggestions Evan.

Personally, I prefer Special Recent Posts for its total control over the appearance of the posts. It's very easy to customize what's going to appear, and use CSS to style how it will appear. Additionally, you can select one or more category and have multiple instances of it on a static page.

It is not a drag & drop element. In a static page, it is placed by shortcode in HTML View in the edit field. As Danny suggests, it can be placed in a Content Box, and as Evan suggests, Anything Boxes may also be used.

#10 outtareach

outtareach

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 221 posts
  • LocationNY
  • Framework Version:Version 3.4.2
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 October 2012 - 12:48 AM

Thanks for all the help guys. yes I've figured it out with special recent post plugin and have styled it a bit but I need a few more odds and ends. I still need to have the comment views and post view next to the category and date in the meta. Is there an easy way to do this? Also need facebook like and twitter in the excerpt. I bought the plugin but no social stuff in it or option to display comment and views. Any direction would help out.

#11 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 15120 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:46 AM

Hi,

Well then, you may need to use Evan's suggestion above or create your own custom section to display your posts on your homepage.

Try Evan's suggestion and if that isn't to your liking, we can assist you with the custom section.

#12 annabenson

annabenson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 8 posts
  • Framework Version:Pro
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:15 AM

Hi guys! You seem to be some experts! I am trying to get the thing working. The 5 latest post in a full view and width. I tried as well the Catloop as the boxes thing. I also tried the plugin latest blog entries but the are all devided in boxes and columms. I want it to be full wide. 

 

I also read some many forums where it just say to paste the code into the content etc. Nothing happens when I do that except for the code to appear as it is. For example this:

 

<?php query_posts('showposts=10'); ?>
<h2>Senaste 10 inlägg</h2>
<?php while (have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>
- <a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>"><?php the_title(); ?></a><br>
<?php endwhile;?>

 

Also the latest blog plugin says that if you wish to use the Special Recent Posts in another part of your theme which is not widget-handled, you can put the following snippet:

<?php
if(function_exists('special_recent_posts')) {
special_recent_posts($args);
}
?>

 

 

 

Bit still it doesn't work...

 

Would be SO grateful if you can help out!

 

Anna



#13 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 29 June 2013 - 12:34 PM

Anna, please open a new topic as this one is rather old, and not exactly related to your unspecified problem.  Please describe your problem in detail and we'll be very happy to assist. Also a link is needed for us to view the site and determine your best course of action.  Thanks for your cooperation.



#14 annabenson

annabenson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 8 posts
  • Framework Version:Pro
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 June 2013 - 09:54 AM

No sure how to start a new topic... 

 

I just want to display my 3 latest posts on my static startpage. With full content - text and pictures. Not in a box mode just like it is on the blog page. 

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

 

So grateful for help.

 

Best Anna



#15 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 June 2013 - 04:07 PM

Anna,

 

If you have a static homepage, then use

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

plugin. 

 

If you are using a dynamic homepage, then change your settings via Dashboard > Settings to create only 3 posts.



#16 annabenson

annabenson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 8 posts
  • Framework Version:Pro
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 July 2013 - 08:42 AM

Sorry I tried that already and "Speciel Recent Posts" plugin doesn't show full content with images and text etc. Any other suggestion? 



#17 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 01 July 2013 - 09:39 PM

Hi Anna

 

There's sections like anyloop -

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

and catloop - http://www.pagelines.com/store/sections/catloop/ that could help



#18 annabenson

annabenson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 8 posts
  • Framework Version:Pro
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 July 2013 - 07:24 AM

James, thank you so much trying helping out. Unfortunately I tried both of them too. And I still don't get the post as it is shown as default (with images and text)... Best Anna



#19 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 July 2013 - 03:03 PM

Anna, please read our

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

.

 

To add full posts to all blog pages, go to Dashboard > PageLines > SIte Options > Blog And Posts.  There is an option there to make all blog listings full posts.

 

If you want only selected blog entries to be full posts, you must do that by excerpt management; copying the content of your post to the excerpt field. I do not believe images display in excerpts. That is a WordPress rule, not a PageLines'.



#20 annabenson

annabenson

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 8 posts
  • Framework Version:Pro
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 July 2013 - 03:11 PM

Thank you! I will try. Anna







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: frontpage, post, display