Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Really odd formatting in IE9


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 melichan857

melichan857

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 July 2012 - 10:14 AM

Site displays well in Chrome but is really messed up in IE9. www.toolboxim.com.au If anyone knows what might be causing this and can point me in the right direction, I would be most grateful. Kindest regards, Melissa

#2 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 July 2012 - 04:47 PM

Simple issue: The image for your globe thumbnail is 100x99px where the others are 50x50px. Resize the globe in Photoshop to 50x50px and replace it. The globe will then be the same size as the others. In Firefox, it appears your box settings or CSS are off as the thumbs for the boxes are not aligned center correctly.

#3 melichan857

melichan857

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 July 2012 - 10:49 AM

The image issue is fine - easy to fix. But how would I "turn on" the CSS for different browsers?

#4 catrina

catrina

    Advocate

  • Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 July 2012 - 02:06 AM

You can use the browser-specific CSS plugin available from the PageLines store:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#5 melichan857

melichan857

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 July 2012 - 01:49 AM

Have installed the plugin - which I suppose Pagelines developed to fix this bug? The plugin seems to have no documentation. Installed the plugin but the issue has not disappeared. Would love to solve this issue, but if I can't I'll go back to thesis - any theme framework worth using should be cross browser compatible - right?

#6 catrina

catrina

    Advocate

  • Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 20 July 2012 - 02:03 AM

The plugin can be used to add CSS that is specific to a browser (for example, if you'd like to make a CSS change that will affect only IE, that CSS will change the element in only IE). For example:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


^ This code will affect the h2 headings in IE.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


^ This code will affect h2 headings on the iPhone and so forth.

#7 melichan857

melichan857

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 July 2012 - 11:57 PM

I don't want to change any elements for different browsers. I simply want the framework to be cross browser compatible. But thank you for trying to answer my questions.

#8 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17124 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 27 July 2012 - 10:09 AM

Hi, PageLines Framework is cross browser compatible. However, I am not able to see your issue as I am on a Mac, so I can not use IE9 correctly and you have a Coming Soon message. Can you provide more information as to what your issue is please.

#9 vergilst

vergilst

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  • Framework Version:latest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:56 AM

is cross browser compatible

Hello,
I don't think so - see some IE8 screens.
In Firefox and Chrome the site looks OK.
Also, I have the Browser Specific CSS plugin installed.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#10 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 July 2012 - 04:09 PM

Forgive my outburst, but we've stated at least 500 times that PageLines Framework uses CSS3 and HTML5. IE8 predates those so any theme, platform, framework or child theme which uses those won't work in IE8. PLEASE read the forum postings on this issue.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

(just one of the many). Let me be very clear about this issue of using the Browser Specific plugin. Some browsers apply CSS differently and therefore you may have to tweak CSS to make things appear perfectly across multiple browsers. We do not provide the plugin to automatically fix things. We provide it so that you can customize your site to your desire. It's totally up to you to do the customization and unfortunately, we don't offer customization of anyone's site via the forum. We have Pros for that and you're welcome to hire one. Use of that plugin requires that you apply the CSS to fix your own site in the browsers you want it to be viewed in and the manner to which it should appear. Having the plugin installed is your first step not the last, to resolving any browser variances. Please note that we are not responsible for the way browsers apply CSS. That's a matter you should complain to their developers about. I agree that it's ridiculous that they don't all follow the same standards, but that's their business decision, not ours. We develop to be as generic as possible. If it doesn't appear as you want in a particular browser, we provide that plugin, free, to give you the chance to fix it. That's the best and most we can and should do.

#11 vergilst

vergilst

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  • Framework Version:latest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:10 PM

Thanks, rangelone,
I already installed an IE blocker plugin. I have to admit that I personally don't care about the problems of the IE developers, but I was a bit concerned about the lazy Windows users (too many of them around, unfortunately).

#12 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17124 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 29 July 2012 - 09:31 AM

Hi, Rangelone is spot on tbh, therefore I have accepted his answer and yes people still using any version of Internet Explorer should be banned from the web in my opinion. I mean it literally takes 50 secs to install Google Chrome.