Getting started best practice

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 alanf

alanf

• Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 03:32 PM

Hello I'm new to PLF and no nothing about code which is why I purchased the product. My question relates to best practice and the order in which you begin to start to do things from the outset. I have installed WP and PLF. I have set up a very basic 1 page site but before going any further would like to answers to the following.. Is there an recommended order in which to do things? Should the settings in WP be dealt with first, general, writing, reading etc Menus? Should I install WP plug-ins before working with the PLF, Akismet, Yoast SEO etc? Should I be creating a separate template for my site? What happens to my site when an update is released? Content, site layout, plug-ins both WP & PLF, etc What is best practice for back up and is there a preferred WP plug-in? I've looked over the Docs, Videos and it all seems to take for granted an assumed level of basic knowledge and best practice with regard to the questions I raise. Please advise Thanks

#2 alanf

alanf

• Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 June 2012 - 03:33 PM

sorry typo in the URL Link removed by user request.

#3 WebWerx

WebWerx

Advocate

• Members
  • 546 posts
  • LocationCanada
  • Framework Version:2.2

Posted 28 June 2012 - 05:36 PM