4 replies to this topic

#1 seedprograms

seedprograms

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 June 2012 - 03:23 PM

Hello wonderful helpers,

This question has been asked before as it seems to impact many users, and the issue solved by some, but I can not see a solution for me in all my reading. Somebody who seemed expert on the Wordpress forum spent some time on it and gave up. First I want to say that any advice you give me (for which I am extremely thankful) - should be as if you are explaining them to your grandma. Because I have never done any web work before until this site and am only slightly more familiar with this than your grandma is.

I am using the "platform" free theme. The site in development stage is seedprograms.org/build.

The issue is only in Firefox or Chrome. The dropdown menus disappear on your way down with your cursor, sometimes. This appears as "flickering" or jumpiness to some users. In googling the forums I see it is common for the helper to not see the problem. I think people who work on the web all day are accustomed to compensate for finicky navigation, whereas occasional users who have tried the site in development stage say "the menus don't work!" So here is my tip: you are more likely to see this if you zoom in on the browser in Firefox or Chrome and move slowly down from the main nav to the dropdowns because the area that creates a problem if your cursor hits it is only a small number of pixels, maybe 1.

Not in IE. I think there is some kind of fix in place for IE that essentially breaks things in firefox and chrome. Just a theory. Again, seedprograms.org/build - try any dropdown menu.

The diagnosis I have done by using the "inspect" function in Firefox and causing the problem in slow motion is this:

-when your cursor moves from the main nav down toward the dropdowns, the problem arises when it hits an area called div#nav_row.main_nav.fix along the way.