Jump to content


Photo

Problems with Footer Nothing appears except PL icon


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:06 PM

Hi. I've edited my PageLines template a bit, adding new sidebar directives to styles.css and adding a slideshow to the header.php. I have also tried several ways to customize the footer to include specific plain-text navigation and a copyright notice, from using the Header And Footer settings to add to the Terms field and/or the More field, to directly adding the html in different places in the footer.php file itself. I even tried adding a Text widget to the footer with my content.

WP seems to be ignoring all of them, and the footer either contains the same navigation as the header nav, or nothing at all. Currently, I've reverted the edited footer back to the original code and all that appears is the link to your sales site.

This is what I WANT to be in the footer:

 <a href="http://coffandstone.com/">Home</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/about-us/">About Us</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/about-us/principals">Principals</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/about-us/client-list/">Client List</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/representative-cases/">Representative Cases</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/submit-a-claim/">Submit a Claim</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/contact-us/">Contact Us</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/faq/">FAQ</a> |
	        <a href="http://coffandstone.com/legal/">Legal</a>
		<p>Copyright ©2012 Coff and Stone, P.A. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable law.</p>

Is there anything I can do to place this code in the footer and have it respected by WP?

Thanks for your help.

#2 Simon_P

Simon_P

    Messer

  • Administrators



  • 8388607 posts
  • LocationDevon
  • Framework Version:2.1.1
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:10 PM

http://codex.wordpre...rence/wp_footer Never need to edit the template files.

#3 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:16 PM

Thanks for the quick reply. I see that the expression "wp-footer" is already included in PageLine's footer.php code; will it be redundant to add new wp-footer instructions below the default code?

#4 Simon_P

Simon_P

    Messer

  • Administrators



  • 8388607 posts
  • LocationDevon
  • Framework Version:2.1.1
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:22 PM

Your missing the point. wp_footer() is a wordpress function that then runs any user 'actions' that have been added to wp_footer. Read that page again. also: http://codex.wordpre...ence/add_action and http://codex.wordpre...rg/Child_Themes

#5 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:37 PM

Well, I interpreted (in the original doc link that you attached) that the function goes into the footer.php file ("near the tag"). Sorry if I misunderstood the information, but I am not an experienced php author and the codex isn't really written for non-programmers. I was hoping I wouldn't have to create a child css file as I don't really know enough to do so, and I think you've implied that's what has to be done. True?

#6 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:51 PM

Oh, and thank you again for answering questions. We all appreciate the response.

#7 catrina

catrina

    Advocate

  • Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 29 March 2012 - 02:36 AM

If you want to learn how to create a child CSS file, we can point you in the right direction and provide help with what's documented here: http://codex.wordpre..._style.css_file

#8 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 06:41 PM

I created a child style.css file and copied the header.php file because I couldn't find references to importing existing php. The functions I wanted (custom sidebar styles and a slideshow on the home page) work okay with the child theme. However, this doesn't absolve you guys for not seeing why your footer content hooks aren't working. Let's ignore the parent-child theme issue for the moment (because it seems irrelevant) and the wp-footer function (since adding static html to a footer is obviously not a "get" function) and discuss how to get custom footer text to appear where it's supposed to via PageLines, please. Thanks, Eric

#9 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 March 2012 - 08:32 PM

Footers are pre-structured columned sidebars in which the columns don't have individual identities for styling or alignment. There's nothing you can change on that issue. You can select in your template, a different sidebar in the footer area, such as one of the full width sidebars, then create columns there or add boxes to the footer. You should consider upgrading to PageLines Framework, perhaps a Developer's license to be able to make complex changes.

#10 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 09:38 PM

I don't want custom formatting, I want text with links and a copyright notice. Even the one that should appear as a default in the Headers and Footers section isn't there. How hard can it be to put plain text into a one-column footer? And I should pay $400 with no guarantee that anyone will answer this simple question?

Just look at the initial post for this thread. Come on, folks, don't any of you developers read these posts carefully to see what the user wants to do?

'Scuse me for getting annoyed, but it's 3 days now and no answer yet. I got people waiting to approve the site and the theme developer is holding us up.

#11 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 09:47 PM

And while I'm ranting, can't you set up your forums so that posters can receive email notifications? I want to know when I can read a reply without needing to keep a browser window up and refreshing it every fifteen minutes.

#12 arpowers

arpowers

    Founder

  • Administrators
  • 3270 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA
  • Framework Version:2.3
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 March 2012 - 10:11 PM

Hi there, Sorry for your frustration. It appears this is categorized under the 'lite edition' which doesn't get regular support. Two points: 1. never edit the core WordPress or PageLines code. 2. You'll need to either use a section (drag/drop) or hooks ('hooked' code) to do this correctly. First, are you a pro customer? If so, I'll recategorize this post. Second, please email cais@pagelines.com for thoughts on using hooks in PageLines. He is writing a tutorial.

#13 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 30 March 2012 - 11:38 PM

First, I am a lite user. Second, I'm not editing the PL or WP code, but trying to enter my content via the settings in the admin interface. Third, the built-in sections aren't doing what they should or I wouldn't be here. Finally, if you can't help me troubleshoot your template's errors, I won't be a buyer, either. It's amazing that four different team members replied to this thread, and not one figured out what was I was trying to solve or offered to check it out. You guys wrote the hooks and the sections in the template. It's not my job to reinvent what you already built, except what you built doesn't show on my pages. If the Lite version is support-free, you should clearly say so. So, looks like I'm gonna dump the theme since no one knows what I'm talking about here. If you can't tell a user how to use your product without bringing in what not to do or to to write code that isn't necessary, then you can't be depended on to help with higher priority issues either.

#14 gyoery

gyoery

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 252 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 March 2012 - 11:59 PM

Seriously, calm down... all of us are trying to help, some of us just for the lulz, so have some decency 2 respect free help you are getting. Now to your questions: chronologically from the latest: 1. You do have a 30 days guarantee 2. It is not that difficult 3. (technically not a question, but its good 4 u to know anyways) To import your custom css file: Upload it to your server > Add following code to Pagelines > Custom Code > Header Scripts: And change the link to your link obviously! 4. While you are on that page, try to enter your code into the window under it, which says footer scripts, and see what happens (I have to take it out on monday): http://wp10987297.wp...e.de/wordpress/ Now use ur beautyful custom stylesheet to align your code to the center. This took me like 15 sec, and I didnt even open 1 single php pl or wp files... 5. (actually 3.) Hope I answered all your questions, if I missed one, it is because, yes.. we skimm through the text, and dont read word for word. All the best.

#15 grtgrfx

grtgrfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 31 March 2012 - 03:47 AM

I'm paying for the product; please bump me up to pro support.

#16 gyoery

gyoery

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 252 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 31 March 2012 - 08:04 AM

Guess what, me 2! And if you continue 2 be as rude and as ungrateful, don't expect much from "pro support". I gave you a complete solution which can be achieved in under 30 sec, and you didn't even bother to check the solution which I implemented for you on MY page!! First, you should get Pro Support when it comes to manners. And don't expect Pro Support to tell you anything else, cause this is the easiest way it is done. + In average they take way longer to answer your questions... well, maybe not anymore, cause no1 will bother to answer your questions here, cause you're rude, don't say thanx, dont accept answers, and most of all - are a whinny little b****. Good luck with building your page alone!

#17 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 31 March 2012 - 09:57 PM

Lets get back to basics here. The footer multi-column sidebar can have 1 to 6 columns, set in PageLines > Settings > Header And Footer. If you select ONE column, the width is set dynamically but, then you can't have multiple columns with logo, links and copyright in it. It just doesn't work like that. If you want three columns for logo, links and copyright, select three column format then just go to Dashboard > Appearance > Widgets select the multi-column footer sidebar and add your text and link widgets. Easy as pie. You do not create links in text files if you know what you're doing in WP. That's a WP function which is why on the Dashboard you have a Links tab. You can create a set of links there, then use the Links widget to add them into any sidebar. If you've purchased the product and this isn't working for you, I'd suggest opening a new forum topic under the appropriate heading for support. Lite users are not supposed to get pro support. @gyoery, thanks for your voluntary assistance with this and other topics.

#18 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 31 March 2012 - 09:58 PM

Oh, if you click the star on the right side at the top of this topic, you'll get automatic emails. It's bookmarking, and it's a built in function of the forum.

#19 gyoery

gyoery

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 252 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 April 2012 - 12:30 PM

@rangelone Well, some1 has to set these idiots straight, and I'm guessing you guys are not allowed to write what's on your mind, so I took the liberty of saying what was on all our minds (I hope) :D