Jump to content


Photo

Page Numbers plugin not working on Platform free


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 aili

aili

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 January 2012 - 04:06 AM

Hi, I'm new to blogging and I've been trying to install a page number plugin to my blog. I'm using Platform free version but none of the plugins seem to work. Any advice? Thanks! AILI www.asiliveit.com

#2 kastelic

kastelic

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 3081 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 January 2012 - 10:31 PM

Could you give us a link to which plugin or plugins aren't working?

#3 aili

aili

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 January 2012 - 10:54 PM

I tried both WP-PageNavi and WP Page Numbers but no luck...

#4 aili

aili

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 January 2012 - 11:56 PM

oops - here are the links: WP-Page Navi: http://wordpress.org...ns/wp-pagenavi/ WP page numbers: http://wordpress.org...p-page-numbers/ thanks again!

#5 wphostmanaged

wphostmanaged

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationOttawa
  • Framework Version:Platform Pro and Pagelines Lite
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 27 March 2013 - 04:16 PM

In the new pagelines lite framework does this wp-navi code still need to be added?

 

<?php wp_pagenavi(); ?>

 

If so what file needs to be updated?



#6 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4979 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 12:02 AM

Hi there, Wp Pagenavi will work with the latest editions of the lite version of the framework. No need to add any extra code, all built in now.



#7 wphostmanaged

wphostmanaged

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationOttawa
  • Framework Version:Platform Pro and Pagelines Lite
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 12:59 AM

Odd I wp-pagenavi installed and active plus the pagelines lite post/page navigation activated and enabled the content area of the drag and drop layout for "blog posts" but nothing is displayed in any blog posts

 

http://www.mysmallbi...a-experts/8570/

 

Am I missing something?



#8 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4979 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 02:26 AM

Have you got enough posts for the Pagination to kick in? Check the settings in settings>reading from the wp admin area see how many blogs you have set to show per page.

 

I've just tested in pl lite and it's come up ok.



#9 wphostmanaged

wphostmanaged

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationOttawa
  • Framework Version:Platform Pro and Pagelines Lite
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 02:56 AM

Yes, in some categories I have 100 posts...   Plus I've got pagenavi set to show if there's only 1 post

 

I also checked the code and the page/post navigation section is not there so it's not being called.

 

I'm just turning off all my plugins to see if there's a confilct



#10 wphostmanaged

wphostmanaged

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationOttawa
  • Framework Version:Platform Pro and Pagelines Lite
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:21 AM

There's no conflict with plugins, I even activated the plugins and settings on another Blog that I have, it didn't work their either.

 

The one thing that I'm wondering is that both of these Blogs previously ran Platform Pro which is still installed.  Would this cause any problems?



#11 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4979 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:50 AM

I've just checked on another pl lite site and it's not working on there, so now I'm trying to work out what's different between the two... Platform Pro being installed previously shouldn't be a problem.



#12 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4979 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 05:45 AM

Right, it turns out I was logged in to my account on one of the sites so it was giving me extra privileges. When i logged out of that site I got the same as the other, it stopped working. I will check with the core team to see what the situation is here.

 

If it is a premium only feature you won't be able to use that code described in the plugin page to add it to the site as Pagelines isn't structured the same as a standard theme, plus when you update the theme it will overwrite the code. I would imagine you'd have to use a wordpress filter to get this to work properly.



#13 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4979 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 10:21 PM

Hi there, I've checked with the developer and they've confirmed that this plugins code is blocked on the lite edition as this is a pro only feature.



#14 wphostmanaged

wphostmanaged

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationOttawa
  • Framework Version:Platform Pro and Pagelines Lite
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 11:41 PM

Odd that the Pagelines team has Stopped users from using a popular free public plugin???   Any alternative plugins/solutions recommended? 


Edited by mysmallbizu, 28 March 2013 - 11:49 PM.


#15 Simon_P

Simon_P

    Messer

  • Administrators
  • 8388607 posts
  • LocationDevon
  • Framework Version:2.0
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 March 2013 - 11:54 PM

Nobody has stopped you using it, if you want to use it you will have to either edit a file to add the code that renders the numbers, or use a wordpress hook to do it, or even a shortcode.

 

Paid users dont have to do any of that.