Custom Side Menu and Widget Styling

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 alexcox6

alexcox6

• Members

• 18 posts

Posted 11 December 2011 - 06:42 PM

Hi Guys Hopefully someone can help me. I am rebuilding our company website using Wordpress and Page lines pro and am having real problems with the CSS for the Menu and widget styling and would really like some assistance if possible. My current website is www.imsm.com and the wordpress site is imsm.bisongrid.com. Thank you in advance Alex. PS the widgets are the case study, twitter ect box's

#2 catrina

catrina

Advocate

• Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 11 December 2011 - 06:43 PM

What problems are you having with the CSS styling? What do you want to adjust?

#3 alexcox6

alexcox6

• Members

• 18 posts

Posted 11 December 2011 - 06:48 PM

Hi Catrina I just can't replicate the look at all. Unfortunately I am new to this all and understand the HTML but just can't understand the CSS. Cheers

#4 catrina

catrina

Advocate

• Members
  • 12345 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 11 December 2011 - 07:03 PM

I think the best place to start is with the widget links. I inspected the colors on the site you want to replicate and they are as follows:

Orange: #F58220
Light Grey: #ECECED
Medium Grey (Text): #9C9DA0

You're going to need these hex codes in the CSS. Here's an example of what the CSS should look like (when changing the link text and background colors):

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

This code is added to PageLines settings > Custom Code > Custom CSS

ul#menu-navigation-menu li#menu-item a = The selector used to identify what you want to style on the page (in this case, it's the link item in the sidebar - this can be identified using

and a tutorial for using Firebug for CSS customizations is here:

)
color = Text link color
background-color = Background color

Does that make sense so far?

#5 alexcox6

alexcox6

• Members

• 18 posts