Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Full width pages with posts


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
25 replies to this topic

#1 gavinblue

gavinblue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 10:10 PM

I have my blog setup with a front page with summaries of the latest posts, and have another page for one of the categories which is a personal project, I can't seem to be able to setup the project page full width with s title box at the top of the page. Any ideas www.gavinblue.com/blog

#2 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 11:57 PM

For a full width on that page add this code to your custom css code area: ` .category-gratis #sidebar {display:none;} .category-gratis #left-col {width:960px;} ` As far as adding a title that would require adding a conditional statement to the php code, what is your level of programming knowledge?

#3 gavinblue

gavinblue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 04:41 AM

Thanks for the response. My level of coding is non-existant. G

#4 gavinblue

gavinblue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 11:44 AM

Hi, I tried the code and it works for the page but when I click on the articles to display the full article, it reverts to standard display (non full width) G

#5 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 04:44 PM

That is because we set the CSS to act only on that one page.

You could copy those rules we set earlier and replace the .category-gratis with .single, but that will make every single post page full width. (the text inside the post still might have to be extended as well)

For your reference see if this video helps:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#6 gavinblue

gavinblue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 07 April 2010 - 11:45 AM

Thanks for the firebug link. The posts look good full width. Can the project(gratis) page be a highlight page with category posts below? Thanks G

#7 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 07 April 2010 - 04:58 PM

At the beginning of your _posts.php file you can add

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#8 gavinblue

gavinblue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 April 2010 - 01:01 AM

Will this work with iBlogPro 4?

#9 sproject

sproject

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 April 2010 - 10:38 AM

Well I have problem with iBlog2 width of main content and sidebar. I want to make width of sidebar exactly 210 px and width of content the rest of place. (I modifified theme to autowidth for different resolution, so this is done).

I had tried this code, but it didn't work. I use Firebug, but I don't see anything important to change, so I need your help.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content



#10 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 13 April 2010 - 08:03 PM

@gavin - if it worked in iblogpro3, yes @sproject - can you provide a link?

#11 gavinblue

gavinblue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 14 April 2010 - 12:59 PM

I get a text at the top of my page " require(PRO.'/template_highlight.php'); " And the blog posts don't go full width G

#12 sproject

sproject

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 April 2010 - 01:46 PM

@cmunns, sure.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

That's it. I hope that you can help me.

#13 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 14 April 2010 - 04:33 PM

@sproject: you can set the sidebar position to absolute instead of relative then add "right:0px;" also, in order to work you'll have to erase the inline styling on the sidebar that says position:relative. @gavinblue: Can you show me what that portion of code, there is a tag missing somewhere?

#14 gavinblue

gavinblue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 15 April 2010 - 02:42 PM

Have a look at

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Thanks G

#15 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 15 April 2010 - 05:17 PM

I can't tell unless I see the actual template file. Can you show me the actual code?

#16 sproject

sproject

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 17 April 2010 - 02:00 PM

I did what you said, but it doesn't work properly. Now it looks better, than before, but still wrong.

After I put the code, I have something like that:

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content


In last copied line I removed commented property like you said.

Any idea what to do now?

#17 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 19 April 2010 - 07:05 AM

It should work, it looks like you have some inline styling attached that is overwriting the position rule. Check the html/php for any inline styling of the sidebar div. Probably in sidebar.php

#18 sproject

sproject

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 19 April 2010 - 01:15 PM

I tried to find inline in *.css;*.php and it's result:

style.css (2 hits)
Line 730: .piped li { float: left; display: inline; }
Line 755: .fix{display:inline-block;}

Removing first one, second one or both display: inline(-block) didn't help me.

#19 cmunns

cmunns

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 6537 posts

Posted 19 April 2010 - 05:10 PM

You need to look in the actual sidebar.php for the styling, but if you can't find it then change your sidebar position to include the important tag like this ` #sidebar{ position:absolute !important; `

#20 maherie

maherie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 20 April 2010 - 02:01 PM

Not to jump on the band wagon. But I need advice on this too. I'm trying to move the sidebar from the blog page on my website, to below into the bottom right footer box. I'd just like a full width minimalistic look to display photos.

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

Any help would be great.